Missoula 5k

I could get used to this.

Today I ran my first 5k. It was pretty easy in comparison to the two marathons I’ve run, and I didn’t have to pace myself at all. (I did hold back a bit because I’m running a half marathon on Sunday morning.)

A 5k is a great race length, I’m learning. The prep is far less intense, but you can still work hard for it, plus it gives you a break from longer distance training to actually get some reward…like an awesome medal.

I have to say, since the only two race finisher medals I have were earned through the blood, sweat, and tears of the 26.2 mile distance, getting a medal for just 3.1 miles seemed a little blasphemous. But hey, it was cool too.

Here’s my race report:

I felt pretty good, ran a brisk pace but not pedal to the medal, and finished strong with a lot left in my gas tank.

Stats:

Age Group: Placed 9th out of 62

Gender Group: Placed 42nd out of 282

Full field: Placed 123 out of 451

My time was 28:07, with a 9:04 min/mile pace. Not my personal best of all time for the distance but actually a PR for the year for me. I just have to be careful to not let it get to my head for tomorrow, because I MUST slow down tomorrow by at least 60 if not 90 seconds per mile to finish without killing myself and my poor legs.

I do have to say that I feel pretty happy about how well I placed considering that some people might consider me about 10-15 lbs overweight based on “standards”. There were a lot of skinnier people than me on the course who were a lot slower than me. And not that I’m comparing myself, but it makes me feel a little better about myself to know that size really does not matter as much as you would think in comparison to overall health. Yes, I’m a little heavier. Yes, my shape is not pro-athlete friendly (hello bosom). But I can hold my own and do amazing things.

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

