Running Uphill

With another half marathon around the corner and the need to begin working on my ‘climbing’ skills for the Two Bear Marathon, Astro and I took to the M Trail today and ran up every other steep switchback. The total elevation gain was around 800 feet.
I was happily surprised that, although, yes, it was hard, I could actually run up the trail. I can see that in a few weeks I could make it running up the whole trail instead of every other switchback. I’m curious to see how it affects my flat ground (or even just not hideously steep ground) running.

Of course, I am icing my calves tonight as a result, but running up the side of a mountain will do that to you.

We’ll see if there’s any benefit during tomorrow’s 5 miler.

image

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

